Tennessee puts record 88 on first-year SEC Academic Honor Roll

University of Tennessee / Credit: UT Athletics

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. — The University of Tennessee placed 88 student-athletes on the 2019-20 First-Year Southeastern Conference Academic Honor Roll that was announced Tuesday by SEC Commissioner Greg Sankey.

That total was the most UT has ever had on the First-Year SEC Academic Honor Roll. It marked an improvement of 29 over the 59 who made the list in 2018-19.

Furthermore, those numbers raised Tennessee’s total number of student-athletes recognized in 2019-20 to 315 combined on the Fall, Winter, Spring and First-Year SEC Academic Honor Rolls.

That sum of 315, which equates to 57 percent of student-athletes being honored during the past academic year, is the highest number ever recorded at UT, according to the Thornton Athletics Student Life Center. It also marks the fifth-consecutive year that Tennessee has seen an increased total number of student-athletes on SEC Honor Rolls.

On the 2019-20 First-Year SEC Honor Roll, the baseball team led the way for Tennessee with 17 student-athletes recognized, followed by women’s soccer with 12 and women’s swimming and diving with eight. Other programs with recipients include softball (7), men’s basketball (6), football (6), men’s track & field (6), women’s track & field (5), rowing (5), volleyball (4), women’s basketball (3), men’s swimming and diving (3), men’s tennis (3), men’s golf (2) and women’s golf (1).

A total of 1,252 student-athletes from around the league were named to the 2019-20 First-Year SEC Academic Honor Roll, which is based on grades from the 2019-20 academic calendar.

Any student‐athlete who participates in a Southeastern Conference championship sport or a student‐athlete who participates in a sport listed on his/her institution’s NCAA Sports Sponsorship Form is eligible for nomination to the Academic Honor Roll.

The following criteria will be followed:

(1) A student‐athlete must have a grade point average of 3.00 or above for either the preceding academic year (two semesters or three quarters) or have a cumulative grade point average of 3.00 or above at the nominating institution.

(2) If a student‐athlete attends summer school, his/her grade point average during the summer academic term must be included in the calculation used to determine eligibility for the Academic Honor Roll.

(3) Student‐athletes eligible for the Honor Roll include those receiving an athletics scholarship, recipients of an athletics award (i.e., letter winner), and non-scholarship student‐athletes who have been on a varsity team for two seasons.

(4) Prior to being nominated, a student‐athlete must have successfully completed 24 semester or 36 quarter hours of non‐remedial academic credit toward a baccalaureate degree at the nominating institution.

(5) The student‐athlete must have been a member of a varsity team for the sport’s entire NCAA Championship segment.

First-year student‐athletes in all sports may be named to the Honor Roll at the conclusion of their first full academic year in residence (spring, fall and summer terms).

2019-20 First-Year SEC Academic Honor Roll 
University of Tennessee 

Baseball (17)
Ethan Anderson – Supply Chain Management
Jordan Beck – Anthropology
Kirby Connell – Supply Chain Management
Chad Dallas – Communication Studies
Kody Davidson – Communication Studies
Sam Fulton – Recreation and Sport Management
Brandon Gielow – Business Management
Drew Gilbert – Sociology-Criminal Justice
Zane Keener – Business Management
Cortland Lawson – Supply Chain Management
Jackson Leath – Agriculture, Leadership, Education and Communication
Will Mabrey – Recreation and Sport Management
Mark McLaughlin – Supply Chain Management
Jorel Ortega – Sociology
Ethan Payne – Business Management
Liam Spence – Communication Studies
Matt Turino – Business Management

Men’s Basketball (6)
Victor Bailey Jr. – Political Science
Davonte Gaines – Recreation and Sport Management
Josiah-Jordan James – Communication Studies
Olivier Nkamhoua – Business Management
Drew Pember – Recreation and Sport Management
Uros Plavsic – Recreation and Sport Management

Women’s Basketball (3)
Jordan Horston – Sport Management
Jessie Rennie – Therapeutic Recreation
Emily Saunders – Recreation and Sport Management

Football (6)
Parker Ball – Biological Sciences
Sean Brown – Recreation & Sport Management
Eric Gray – Kinesiology
Jackson Lampley – Management
Jackson Lowe – Communication Studies
Fred Orr – Recreation & Sport Management

Men’s Golf (2)
Trenton Johnson – Finance
Cade Russell – Recreation & Sport Management

Women’s Golf (1)
Nicole Whiston – Business Analytics

Rowing (5)
Beatrice Bernard – Psychology
Madison Kirkman – Marketing
Reagan Long – Neuroscience
Kathleen Rice – Architecture
Haley Savastano – Biomedical Engineering

Women’s Soccer (12)
Isabella Cook – Exploratory
Claudia Dipasupil – Marketing
Alicia Donley – Communication Studies
Bridie Herman – Mechanical Engineering
Tara Katz – Biological Sciences
Colleen McIlvenna – Finance
Maria Nelson – Kinesiology
Carlyn Presley – Mathematics
Lindsey Romig – Supply Chain Management
Hannah Tillett – Business Administration
Giselle Washington – Kinesiology
Brooke Wilson – Sociology

Softball (7)
Samantha Bender – Kinesiology
Amanda Curran – Child & Family Studies
Anna Fox – Political Science
KK McCrary – Child & Family Studies
Kiki Milloy – Biological Sciences
Madison Webber – Kinesiology
Josie Willingham – Pre‐Med

Men’s Swimming & Diving (3)
Brett Champlin – Business
Nick McCann – Biological Sciences
Tommy Weir – Construction Science & Agricultural Systems

Women’s Swimming & Diving (8)
Kaitlin Harty – Communication Studies
Kara Holt – Chemistry
Lyndsey Huizenga – Supply Chain Management
Elle Renner – Interior Architecture
Abby Samansky – Social Work
Kendall Shields – Business Analytics
Natalie Ungaretti – Biological Sciences
Emily Ann Wolfson – Supply Chain Management

Men’s Tennis (3)
Giles Hussey – Recreation and Sport Management (Graduate)
Finn Stodder – Advertising
Mark Wallner – Finance

Men’s Track & Field (6)
Riley Buchholz – History
Peyton Davis – Materials Science Engineering
Alex Kay – Supply Chain Management
Matthew McMillan – Supply Chain Management
Anthony Riley – Finance
Steele Wasik – Masters ‐ Communication and Information

Women’s Track & Field (5)
Au’Yana Carson – Architecture
Jada Chambers – Environmental Studies
Ainsley Cooper – Kinesiology
Kathleen Maley – Audiology and Speech Pathology
Vanessa Watson – Communication Studies

Volleyball (4)
Madison Bryant – Business Analytics
Morgahn Fingall – Kinesiology
Kailey Keeble – Recreation & Sport Management
Madisen Werdell – Mathematics

-UT Athletics



  • Forecast
  • Currents
  • Planner