Guarantano Named to Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award Watch List

Credit: UT Athletics

BALDWIN, Md. – Tennessee redshirt senior quarterback Jarrett Guarantano was named to the 2020 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award Watch List, announced the organization on Tuesday.

The Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award® presented by A. O. Smith Corporation is presented annually to the top senior and upperclassman quarterback set to graduate with their class by the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation and Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Selection Committee. Candidates are chosen based on player performance on and off the field.

Lodi, N.J., native Guarantano returns for his final season on Rocky Top after spearheading UT’s midyear turnaround in 2019 and lifting the Vols to a six-game win streak to conclude last season. He led Tennessee with 2,158 passing yards and 16 touchdowns, while completing 152-of-257 pass attempts after appearing in all 13 games with seven starts. Guarantano averaged 14.2 yards per completion to top the SEC.

Impressively, Guarantano came off the bench to lead the Vols to victories against Mississippi State, South Carolina, UAB and Kentucky, suffering from a broken wrist in his non-throwing hand against South Carolina to never miss a game.

He continued to surpass expectations throughout 2019 and passed for a career-high 415 yards against a Missouri defense that was ranked sixth nationally in pass defense to propel the Vols to a bowl berth. His 415-yard performance was the fourth-most ever by a Vol.

Guarantano is one of 10 quarterbacks from the SEC selected to the preseason list. The recognition is his first preseason honor.

The complete watch list for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award® can be found HERE.

2020 Tennessee Football Preseason Honors

Brent Cimaglia, Sr., PK
Lou Groza Award Watch List
All-SEC First Team (Athlon, College Football News, Phil Steele)

Eric Gray, So., RB
Doak Walker Award Watch List
All-SEC Fourth Team (Athlon)

Jarrett Guarantano, R-Sr., QB
Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award Watch List

Velus Jones Jr., Sr., WR/RS
Paul Hornung Award Watch List
All-SEC Third Team (Athlon, Phil Steele)

Brandon Kennedy, Sr., OL
All-SEC Third Team (Phil Steele)

Cade Mays, Jr., OL
Outland Trophy Watchlist
Second-Team All-American (Sporting News)
All-SEC Second Team (Athlon, Phil Steele)

Wanya Morris, So., OL
All-SEC First Team (College Football News)
All-SEC Fourth Team (Phil Steele)

Josh Palmer, Sr., WR
All-SEC Fourth Team (Athlon)

Trey Smith, Sr., OL
Wuerffel Trophy Watch List
Outland Trophy Watch List
First-Team All-American (Athlon, Phil Steele, Sporting News)
Second-Team All-American (Walter Camp)
All-SEC First Team (Athlon, College Football News, Phil Steele)

Bryce Thompson, Jr., DB
All-SEC Fourth Team (Athlon, Phil Steele)

Henry To’o To’o, So., LB
Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List
Butkus Award Watch List
Bednarik Award Watch List
All-SEC First Team (Phil Steele)
All-SEC Second Team (Athlon)


UT Athletics