Tennessee Athletics places record 46 on Winter SEC Academic Honor Roll

University of Tennessee / Credit: UT Athletics

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. — The University of Tennessee is represented by a department-record 46 student-athletes on the 2021 Winter SEC Academic Honor Roll, which was announced Wednesday by league commissioner Greg Sankey.

The women’s swimming and diving program led the way with 21 making the list. The men’s swimming and diving team followed with 13 members earning academic honors, while the men’s basketball team had seven and women’s basketball saw five members garnering accolades.

UT winter sports teams collectively improved their overall total by eight over the 38 who made the honor roll last year. Men’s basketball saw a jump in four, while women’s swimming and diving improved by three, men’s swimming and diving increased its tally by one and women’s basketball hit the same mark.

A total of 788 student-athletes were named to the 2021 Winter SEC Academic Honor Roll. It includes the sports of basketball, equestrian, gymnastics, and swimming & diving. It is based on grades from the 2020 Spring, Summer and Fall terms.

Any student-athlete who participates in a Southeastern Conference championship sport or a student-athlete who participates in a sport listed on his/her institution’s NCAA Sports Sponsorship Form is eligible for nomination to the SEC Academic Honor Roll.

The following criteria will be followed: (1) A student‐athlete must have a grade point average of 3.00 or above for either the preceding academic year (two semesters or three quarters) or have a cumulative grade point average of 3.00 or above at the nominating institution. (2) If a student‐athlete attends summer school, his/her grade point average during the summer academic term must be included in the calculation used to determine eligibility for the Academic Honor Roll. (3) Student‐athletes eligible for the Honor Roll include those receiving an athletics scholarship, recipients of an athletics award (i.e., letter winner), and non‐scholarship student‐athletes who have been on a varsity team for two seasons. (4) Prior to being nominated, a student‐athlete must have successfully completed 24 semester or 36 quarter hours of non‐remedial academic credit toward a baccalaureate degree at the nominating institution. (5) The student‐athlete must have been a member of a varsity team for the sport’s entire NCAA Championship segment.

University of Tennessee 2021 Winter SEC Academic Honor Roll Members 

Men’s Basketball (7)
Victor Bailey Jr. – Political Science
John Fulkerson – Agricultural Leadership, Education & Communication
Davonte Gaines – Recreation and Sport Management
Josiah‐Jordan James – Communication Studies
Brock Jancek – Civil Engineering
Uros Plavsic – Recreation and Sport Management
Santiago Vescovi – Business Management

Women’s Basketball (5)
Rae Burrell – Communication Studies
Rennia Davis – Agricultural Leadership, Education & Communication
Kasiyahna Kushkituah – Communication & Info. ‐ Journalism & Electronic Media
Jessie Rennie – Therapeutic Recreation
Emily Saunders – Therapeutic Recreation

Men’s Swimming & Diving (13)
Benjamin Blevins‐Boor – English
Seth Thompson‐Bailey – Supply Chain Management
Luke Brice – History and Geography (Double Major)
Brett Champlin – Business
Owen Devine – Kinesiology
Jarel Dillard – Civil Engineering
Joel Giraudeau – Business
Michael Houlie – Finance
Parker Kaye – Supply Chain Management
Kayky Mota – Recreation/Sport Management
Nick McCann – Biological Sciences
Keegan Richardson – Advertising
Matthew Wade – Supply Chain Management

Women’s Swimming & Diving (21)
Mallory Beil – Human Resource Management
Grace Cable – Psychology
Ana Celaya Hernandez – Journalism & Electronic Media
Alexandra Gebel – Recreation/Sport Management
Bailey Grinter – Biological Sciences
Kaitlin Harty – Communication Studies
Kara Holt – Chemistry
Lyndsey Huizenga – Supply Chain Management
Danika Katzer – Kinesiology
McKenna Morello – Kinesiology
Amanda Nunan – Nutrition
Tjasa Pintar – Kinesiology
Nikol Popov – Psychology
Elle Renner – Interior Architecture
Trude Rothrock – Biological Sciences
Kendall Shields – Business Analytics
Megan Sichterman – Food Science
Emily Sykes – Recreation/Sport Management
Natalie Ungaretti – Biological Sciences
Emily Ann Wolfson – Supply Chain Management
Alexis Yager – Child and Family Studies


-UT Athletics