Four Vols Earn First Team All-SEC Recognition From Coaches

Four Vols Earn First Team All-SEC Recognition From Coaches

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – After a highly successful 2022 season, Tennessee was well represented on the Southeastern Conference postseason teams that were announced on Tuesday afternoon, which are voted on by the league’s 14 head coaches. 

The Volunteers had four players earn first team All-SEC recognition, led by the quarterback Hendon Hooker. Joining Hooker on the first team were junior wide receiver Jalin Hyatt, senior right tackle Darnell Wright and senior defensive lineman Byron Young. Hooker, Hyatt and Wright were all named first team All-SEC by the Associated Press, as well, while Young was a second-team selection by the AP, which released their all-conference teams on Monday.

Tennessee’s four Coaches All-SEC first team selections are the most for the program since also producing four in 2006.

A finalist for the Walter Camp, Maxwell, Unitas Golden Arm and Manning awards, Hooker captained an offense that led the nation in scoring offense (47.3) and total offense (538.1). The sixth-year senior from Greensboro, North Carolina, completed 229-of-329 passes for 3,135 yards and 27 touchdowns with just two interceptions while adding 430 rushing yards and five scores on the ground. He finished the regular season ranking atop the SEC in passing efficiency (175.5), total offense (324.1), completion percentage (69.6) and yards per attempt (9.53).

Hooker was also named the SEC Offensive Player of the Year by the AP earlier in the week. He is the first Tennessee quarterback to be selected to the Coaches All-SEC first team since Tee Martin in 1999.

Hyatt, a Biletnikoff Award finalist, took home the SEC receiving triple crown—leading the league in receptions (67), receiving yards (1,267) and receiving touchdowns (15). His 15 scores also lead the FBS, while his 1,267 yards rank fourth nationally and are 31 shy of tying the program record set by Marcus Nash in 1997.

The junior wideout from Irmo, South Carolina, is Tennessee’s first wide receiver selected to the Coaches All-SEC first team since Robert Meachem in 2006.

A talented, powerful tackle and two-time SEC Offensive Lineman of the Week this season, Wright has played a team-high 829 snaps without allowing a sack. The 2023 NFL Draft prospect anchors the nation’s No. 1 offense and is one of just eight Power Five offensive tackles with more than 825 snaps played and no sacks allowed this season, according to Pro Football Focus.

Young dominated up front and finished the regular season leading the Volunteer defense with 10 tackles for loss, five sacks and 14 quarterback hurries. The senior from Georgetown, South Carolina, was twice named SEC Defensive Lineman of the Week after strong performances at Pittsburgh and LSU, totaling 4.5 TFLs and 3.5 sacks across those outings.

The SEC postseason individual awards will be announced on Wednesday while the SEC All-Freshman Team is slated to be released on Thursday.

QB — Hendon Hooker, Tennessee 
RB — Quinshon Judkins, Mississippi 
RB — Devon Achane, Texas A&M 
WR — Jalin Hyatt, Tennessee 
WR — Antwane Wells, South Carolina 
TE — Brock Bowers, Georgia 
OL — Warren McClendon, Georgia 
OL — Darnell Wright, Tennessee 
OL — O’Cyrus Torrence, Florida 
OL — Emil Ekiyor Jr., Alabama 
C — Ricky Stromberg, Arkansas 
AP — Devon Achane, Texas A&M 
Defense/Special Teams 
DL — BJ Ojulari, LSU 
DL — Derick Hall, Auburn 
DL — Jalen Carter, Georgia 
DL — Byron Young, Tennessee 
LB — Will Anderson, Jr., Alabama 
LB — Drew Sanders, Arkansas 
LB — Henry To’oTo’o, Alabama 
DB — Emmanuel Forbes, Mississippi State 
DB — Chris Smith, Georgia 
DB — Kool-Aid McKinstry, Alabama 
DB — Jordan Battle, Alabama 
PK —  Jack Podlesny, Georgia 
P — Kai Kroeger, South Carolina  
RS — Tulu Griffin, Mississippi State 
KOS — Jake Bates, Arkansas*
KOS — Jack Podlesny, Georgia*
LS —  Wesley Schelling, Vanderbilt
QB — Stetson Bennett, Georgia 
RB — Raheim Sanders, Arkansas 
RB — Jahmyr Gibbs, Alabama 
WR — Ladd McConkey, Georgia 
WR — Jonathan Mingo, Ole Miss 
WR —  Dominic Lovett, Missouri 
TE — Darnell Washington, Georgia 
OL — Nick Broeker, Ole Miss 
OL — Javion Cohen, Alabama 
OL — Tyler Steen, Alabama 
OL — Jovaughn Gwyn, South Carolina 
OL — Will Campbell, LSU 
C — Sedrick Van Pran, Georgia 
AP — Jahmyr Gibbs, Alabama 

Defense/Special Teams 
DL — Isaiah McGuire, Missouri 
DL — Mekhi Wingo, LSU 
DL — Nazir Stackhouse, Georgia 
DL — Tyrus Wheat, Mississippi State 
LB — Harold Perkins, LSU 
LB — Bumper Pool, Arkansas 
LB — Nathaniel Watson, Mississippi State 
DB — Antonio Johnson, Texas A&M 
DB — Kelee Ringo, Georgia 
DB — Keidron Smith, Kentucky 
DB — Dwight McGlothern, Arkansas 
PK — Will Reichard, Alabama 
P — Nick Constantinou, Texas A&M  
RS — Kool-Aid McKinstry, Alabama 
KOS —  Will Reichard, Alabama
LS — William Mote, Georgia*
LS — Hunter Rogers, South Carolina*

2022 Tennessee Football Postseason Honors
HC Josh Heupel
SEC Coach of the Year – AP 
OC Alex Golesh
Frank Broyles Award Finalist 
QB Hendon Hooker
Walter Camp Player of the Year Award Finalist 
Maxwell Award Finalist 
Manning Award Finalist 
Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award Finalist 
SEC Offensive Player of the Year – AP 
All-SEC First Team – AP, Coaches
WR Jalin Hyatt 
Biletnikoff Award Finalist
All-SEC First Team – AP, Coaches 
TE Jacob Warren 
2022 SEC Community Service Team 
OL Darnell Wright  
All-SEC First Team – AP, Coaches 
DE Byron Young 
All-SEC First Team – Coaches  
All-SEC Second Team – AP 

-UT Athletics

Hendon Hooker, Jalin Hyatt, Darnell Wright & Byron Young / Credit: UT Athletics