DeVonta Smith, Alabama clean up at awards’ show

DeVonta Smith, Alabama clean up at awards’ show

Alabama wide receiver DeVonta Smith won two more major awards and four of his Crimson Tide teammates earned one apiece on Thursday at the virtually held 30th annual The Home Depot College Football Awards.

Smith, who won the Heisman Trophy on Tuesday, became the first receiver to win the Maxwell Award as the nation’s top player since Michigan’s Desmond Howard in 1991. He also won the Fred Biletnikoff Award (outstanding receiver) in his latest haul.

Asked where he will display the new hardware, Smith said “I’ll leave that up to my mom.”

Smith has 105 receptions for 1,641 yards and 20 touchdowns entering Monday’s College Football Playoff game against Ohio State. He has 22 touchdowns overall.

Alabama’s Mac Jones won the Davey O’Brien Award (best quarterback), Najee Harris was named winner of the Doak Walker Award (premier running back), offensive tackle Alex Leatherwood won the Outland Trophy (most outstanding interior lineman) and Landon Dickerson won the Rimington Trophy (outstanding center).

Jones’ 4,036 passing yards is an Alabama season record and he has also thrown 36 touchdowns against four interceptions. Harris has rushed for 1,387 yards and a national-high 24 touchdowns on the ground and 27 overall.

“It’s definitely an honor to win this award and be up there with the greats of college football,” Jones said on the show televised by ESPN.

Tulsa linebacker Zaven Collins won the Chuck Bednarik Award to give him a sweep of the national Defensive Player of the Year awards. Collins won the Lombardi Trophy last month.

Collins registered 53 tackles, 11.5 tackles for loss, four sacks, four interceptions and two forced fumbles in eight games for the Golden Hurricane. He returned two picks for touchdowns.

Florida’s Kyle Pitts won the John Mackey Award (outstanding tight end), TCU safety Trevon Moehrig received the Jim Thorpe Award (best defensive back) and Coastal Carolina’s Jamey Chadwell won the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award.

Miami’s Jose Borregales won the Lou Groza Award (outstanding place kicker) after making 20 of 22 field-goal attempts this year, a 90.9 percent accuracy rate that was tied for the best in the nation among kickers with at least 20 attempts.

Pressley Harvin III of Georgia Tech won the Ray Guy Award (top punter).


Maxwell Award Winner — DeVonta Smith, Alabama

Davey O’Brien Award — Mac Jones, Alabama

Outland Trophy — Alex Leatherwood, Alabama

Chuck Bednarik Award — Zaven Collins, Tulsa

Doak Walker Award — Najee Harris, Alabama

Fred Biletnikoff Award — DeVonta Smith, Alabama

John Mackey Award — Kyle Pitts, Florida

Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award — Jamey Chadwell, Coastal Carolina

Jim Thorpe Award — Trevon Moehrig, TCU

Lou Groza Award — Jose Borregales, Miami

Ray Guy Award — Pressley Harvin III, Georgia Tech

Rimington Trophy — Landon Dickerson, Alabama


What's Happening

Ingles Markets Big Game Giveaway

Ingles Markets Big Game Giveaway

99.1 The Sports Animal and Ingles Markets want to hook you up with all the food you need for the Big Game! Listen to The Starting Lineup for your chance to win an Ingles gift card! 

TN Job Fair – Are You Hiring

TN Job Fair – Are You Hiring

TENNESEE VIRTUAL JOB FAIR February 1st – February 28th Are you hiring? We’re hosting a virtual job fair and can help you fill positions with qualified candidates.